The Kaeng Raeng Cleanse

cheers to the weekend

When it comes to cleansing, there are so many options. You can cleanse through simply eating a clean diet, eating only raw fruits and veggies, juicing, making green smoothies, or ordering a cleanse program online. I generally prefer juice or smoothies, but we’d been hearing a lot about the Kaeng Raeng cleanse program through other bloggers and thought we’d check it out.

The Kaeng Raeng cleanse is a vegan, gluten free program that ranges from 3-6 days and beginner to master. It consists of 3 packets a day of a mixture of freeze-dried fruit, fiber and non-GMO soy protein that you take in addition to eating raw fruits and vegetables. They were generous enough to send us some sample packets, so we wanted to share our thoughts with you!

SARAH:

I think it’s safe to say I’d at least rank as “intermediate” on the cleanse experience scale. I’ve dried all of the aforementioned cleansing techniques and I try to do a week long detox at least twice a year. I was impressed that Kaeng Raeng’s formula included protein and fiber, because I often lose energy when drinking juice alone and the lack of fiber can keep you from eliminating toxins. However, for someone like me who is sensitive to too much sugar, I didn’t like that the packets only contained freeze-dried fruit instead of providing a balance of fruits and veggies.

The cleanse allows you to mix the packets with water or non-dairy milk, but I decided to put my own spin on it to make it work for me. I blended the JuuJuu flavor (which combines blueberries, bananas and blackberries) with almond milk and added some romaine lettuce, spirulina and vanilla stevia in order to get my morning dose of greens. The flavor of the packet itself was pretty bland, probably because I mixed it instead of taking it straight, but I did put a little aside to try alone and I LOVED it. So tasty. It’s also worth noting that the psyllium husks they add for fiber turn kind of gelatinous, so when blended it produces a thicker jelly-like texture which I don’t mind but could be a turn off for some people.

Overall I’m not sure I’d order the packets as a cleanse. If they sold them in stores in bulk, I’d definitely get some to make breakfast or post-workout smoothies, but as cleanses go, I’ve gotta have my greens.

JAMIE:

Although Sarah is the cleanse master, I have never tried one. Monday, when we start the Greanleaf Juice Cleanse, will be my first time.  Since I’m a little nervous (because I can’t fathom not putting ‘food’ in my mouth for three days), I suggested we sample The Kaeng Raeng cleanse packet to give me some pre-game motivation (Thanks again ladies for the samples!!).  The packet I had was called Glai Roong “Daybreak” and it consisted of mango, peach and pineapple… 3 things I absolutely love!  I ended up substituting mine for breakfast (post-workout) while running out the door for work. Since our cleanse next week consists of fresh juices I wanted to sample the true flavor of a cleanse that came in a dried form, so I only mixed it with water like instructed.  They suggest 24-32 oz of water so I decided to go with 32 oz, thinking I’d like it better if the flavor wasn’t too intense. It almost tasted like flavored water (my fault for adding the higher amount suggested) but depending on what you’re going for it’s not always a bad thing!  Considering I was having it for breakfast it didn’t quite do the trick though.  Like Sarah said it includes a decent amount of protein and fiber so it does hold you over but after the calories I had torched that morning the ‘Beginner’ packet (consisting of 204 calories) wasn’t enough to hold me over till lunch.

Overall my suggestions would be:

  1. Mix with the lower amount of suggested water (24oz)
  2. Shake do not stir–> I didn’t have a capped water bottle with me big enough so I mixed the packet in a pitcher and stirred… It was extremely hard to dissolve.  For someone who didn’t like pulp until they were 22 (and grew a liking from fresh grapefruit juice in her mimosa) having chunks in your flavored water didn’t go over so well.
  3. Use packet as pre or post workout snack instead, having only 3 packets a day would not sustain me fully.

The Kaeng Raeng cleanse has gotten great praise from Lauren Conrad, ‘JWOWW’, Kim Barnouin of Skinny Bitch and many more. I’m not a cleanse master, so I’m not telling you to take my word for it but it’s not ‘the cleanse’ for me. As much of a hassle as it’s going to be I think I’d prefer to go out of my way for the fresh juices… But next week I’ll fill you in on that one!

Have an amazing weekend!

❤ Jamie & Sarah

Image: Via

Leave a Reply

