Things to give a Whirl this Weekend

{{Our View}}

JAMIE:

I am a girl who loves her lists… shocking coming from a planner right? Yeah probably not so much. Well occasionally (maybe a little more frequent than that) I make a weekend list of things I either want to do or get accomplished. Here are 3 things I’d recommend to give a whirl this weekend:

Recipe to try: I made this simple Avocado Spinach Egg Salad for a girlfriend I had over last night.  We wanted something quick and healthy post workout and we were very impressed.  Granted we did play up my spice cabinet a bit by adding some red pepper flakes, thyme, garlic, cummin and just about anything to give it that extra kick.  It’s better with a bit of spice so don’t be afraid to jazz it up.

DIY: This tutorial is most definitely on my bucket list for the weekend.  You know those old shirts you’ll probably never wear again? Turn them into a vintage masterpiece by following these 3 steps!  My guess is it’s a little cheaper than those “vintage inspired” ones we buy at Urban Outfitters.

Beauty Remedies: Get beachy waves year round with this simple Sea Salt Spray. Considering a gf and I are booking cabo today –> I will def be mastering this combo.

SARAH: 

I, on the other hand, am generally not a planner by nature…I’ll do it, but it usually stresses me out. Regardless, here are a few things I want to do this weekend, and encourage you to follow suit!

Try Something New: I’ve been all about this lately. Currently, I’m teaching myself to play the harmonica, learning both Country and West Coast Swing, and I’m about to start learning Spanish! Life can get so boring if you follow the same routine all the time. I forgot how good it feels to learn! Make this the weekend you start that project you’ve been putting off. Livemocha has free language courses if you are trying to learn a new lingo, you can learn to line dance at Duke’s Bar and Grill in Portland every night at 8 p.m., or try out salsa lessons at Aztec Willie’s on Saturdays at 9:30.

Sip on this: I’m cleansing at the moment, which means lots and lots of green smoothies! While I love the green guys, every once in awhile I need something a little more decadent. This Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookie Smoothie looks naughty, but is actually a great post-workout snack!

Relax: Every time my aunt and sister are in town, my mom and I take them out for a girl’s spa day. They are coming this weekend, so pedicures and massages are on the agenda for tomorrow morning! Even if you can’t afford spa services, pamper yourself this weekend with a mani pedi, a bubble bath or a DIY facial. You’ll go back to work on Monday so refreshed!

Looking forward to a great weekend that should include a little extra time to get a few things done! Have a good weekend:)

❤ Jamie & Sarah

Leave a Reply

