Healthy Workday Lunch

The fridge at my office literally has a whole drawer dedicated just to me! That way I’m always prepared for late breakfasts, lunches in and quick healthy snacks.  When you have the right foods on hand it makes it easy to throw together a quick-lunch that’s waistline friendly. I make it a point to keep my weekday breakfast and lunch options on track with my health goals so I can tend to be more lenient for happy hours or dinner out (It is possible to be social and waistline friendly…. just not as easy:/). Planning ahead and only leaving myself healthy options at the office is one of my most-used fit tips because afternoon fatigue can easily get the best of us corporate girls.

Here’s a few of the things I ALWAYS have on hand

Fridge:

  • Lots of veggies
  • Brown rice or quinoa
  • Salsa
  • Hot sauce
  • Hummus
  • Shelled Edamame
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Almond Milk

 Canned:

  • Black beans
  • Corn
  • Olives

 Drawer:

  • Bananas
  • Apples
  • Rice cakes
  • Nori
  • Nut Butter
  • Cereal
  • Oatmeal
  • Oil
  • Wine Vinegar
  • Cinnamon
  • Almonds

My mock Café Yumm bowls are one of my favorite things to prepare at the office. Today, I through in a little twist on the typical veggie bowl w/ some leftover salmon.  Here’s a look at how it turned out…

Salmon Veggie Bowl

Salmon Veggie Bowl

Salmon Veggie Bowl

  • Heated: ½ piece salmon, steamed broccoli, a few scoops brown rice
  • Then to top: ¼ avocado, 1 diced tomato, nori, 2 hefty scoops of salsa, dash of wine vinegar, tbsp of Trader Joes greek feta dip

Mix and enjoy!!

Then I obviously needed a sweet treat, so it was accompanied by:

Rice cake-topped with a swipe of PB and then smothered with mashed banana and cinnamon

Rice cake-topped with a swipe of PB and then smothered with mashed banana and cinnamon

After the veggie scramble this morning I’d say I’m right on track to indulge a little at happy hour tonight 🙂

❤ Jamie

Leave a Reply

