House Special: Blueberry Hot Toddys

Happy Monday all!

Our weekend was a blast, we basically spent two whole days watching football and lounging with friends from out of town. So much good football!! Sadly, my team never made it to playoffs (Green Bay – karma is a bitch), but I thoroughly enjoy NFL playoffs no matter what, so I still had a good time. Normally, beer, beer and more beer is on the menu for football viewing, but since I don’t drink beer, I needed another libation to indulge in. Lately, my drink of choice has been a little something our roommate Josh and I made up…Blueberry Hot Toddys. Which are essentially hot toddys with frozen blueberries thrown in…a random last minute addition that turned an average drink into a masterpiece (if I do say so myself).

These lovelies are the perfect cold weather drink. They’re warm and fruity but not too sweet, with a kick that only whiskey can provide. They are also an age-old cold remedy, as I’ve mentioned before. They are best made with bourbon whiskey (as opposed to Canadian I guess…this is something I just learned), and I can vouch for Buffalo Trace…we’ve made these with that stuff multiple times and it’s bomb.

SARAH AND JOSH’S BLUEBERRY HOT TODDYS

Photo Credit: Inspired Edibles

Ingredients:

1-2 shots bourbon

1 1/2 cups hot water or black tea (the latter provides a caffeine buzz so the whiskey doesn’t knock you out)

1 tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 tsp. blackberry creme honey (regular local honey is fine, but the flavored stuff adds an extra dimension)

6-8 frozen blueberries

Boil the water and add tea bags if using. Add to a mug with lemon juice, whiskey and honey. Mix until honey is dissolved and the drink is sweet throughout. Add blueberries right before drinking. Warning: this will give you a significant buzz; I don’t know if it’s the fact that it’s warm or what, but it’ll getcha…

I’ll be laying off the hot toddys for the next few weeks while I do a blended cleanse, it’s time to reset and refresh. But if you aren’t taking an alcohol break like me, you should definitely test these out!

<3Sarah

One thought on “House Special: Blueberry Hot Toddys

  1. Pingback: You know what they say about an apple a day… | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

