Vegan, Paleo Seasonal Snickerdoodles

December has arrived. Aka, the countdown to Christmas has begun!

Last night, I was at my parents house, which always gets me in the Christmas mood this time of year as I’ve had so many awesome holiday memories there. We were hanging out, catching up and watching the Grinch (my FAVE Christmas movie), and I got this intense urge to bake cookies. Baking is one of my fav
orite holiday activities, despite the fact that I can’t eat any traditional Christmas sweets. So I decided to experiment and make something delicious that wouldn’t make me sick or give me a sugar crash.

I remember seeing a recipe for pumpkin snickerdoodles on Pinterest recently that looked bomb, so I decided to try my hand at vegan, gluten free pumpkin snickerdoodles. I only had mashed sweet potato on hand, but any pureed winter squash would work in this recipe. They were a little soft, so next time I’d try using fresh sweet potato instead of canned and adding some flaxseed or psyllium husks for added bulk, but otherwise they were to DIE for. The recipe turned out to be Paleo-friendly as well, as it’s low sugar and completely grain free!

SEASONAL VEGAN PALEO SNICKERDOODLES

Vegan Paleo Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ cup pumpkin or sweet potato puree
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons honey or coconut nectar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Optional: 1 tablespoon psyllium husks or flaxseed (adds a firmer texture)

For coating:

  • 2 tablespoons palm sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, cinnamon, salt, and soda. Mix the wet ingredients and the psyllium husks if using. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mix and blend with a wooden spoon. Roll the batter into 14-16 cookies, roughly golf ball size. Mix your cinnamon sugar coating in a small bowl (palm sugar and remaining cinnamon). Roll each ball into the mixture, and place on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for 10-13 minutes until bottoms are golden.

Hope you enjoy these as much as my fam did! Jamie and I are starting to count down the hours till the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show tomorrow…will you be watching?

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

