Rice Cake Open-Faced Sandwich

Last week my best friend texted me from the grocery store with an urgent need of healthy snack suggestions. Due to the fact that I am a huge snack person this really got me thinking.. Got to keep that metabolism in check! This made me realize that I tend to get stuck on 1 or 2 snacks at a time and keep them in constant rotation until I feel the need for a change. Works well considering I do my grocery shopping for one but with her having a family of three, I quickly whipped together about 6 texts worth of ideas.

What seems to be in constant rotation for me right now is mini rice cracker open-faced sandwiches. To be honest, I’ve never really been a big fan of rice cakes until I used them for this purpose. When snacking, I like to have the option of sweet or salty (just like when I whip up my breakfast) and these can easily accommodate for both.

When making these mini rice cake sandwiches you can use brown or white rice cakes.  Brown tends to be double the calories (at least w/ Trader Joe’s options- 2 for 70 calories vs. 1 for 70 calories) but remember brown rice provides 4 times the fiber, additional protein and a lower glycemic index.

Here are just two of the many mini sandwiches I make!

SWEET

1 tbsp Nut butter (of choice), 1/2 banana, sprinkle of cinnamon

Tip: It’s easy to use more than a tablespoon of nut butter so if needed- measure! Also great w/ honey!

SALTY

1-2 tbsps hummus, 4 slices tomato, 2 slices avocado, sprinkle of salt & pepper

Other great toppings:

  • Sprouts
  • Turkey
  • Cucumber
  • Bell pepper
  • Mini PB & J’s
  • Honey
  • Fruit

The options are endless, test them out and let me know what you think!

❤ Jamie

2 thoughts on “Rice Cake Open-Faced Sandwich

  1. Hi

    My name is saba n I absolutely am in love with you guys blog!

    Just wanted to know if I could get other healthy recipes besides the ones that are listed on this forum?

    Thank you ;))

Leave a Reply

