Copycat Trader Joe’s Carrot Miso Dressing

What a weekend! Pumpkin carving, tons of football, and VIP treatment at the bars….I’d say it was definitely a success.

Two of my fall faves: Bears football and Halloween

However, after what seems like weeks of never ending craziness, it’s time for me to give my body a rest. My head is foggy, I’m tired, and just generally not feeling great, which I know is a symptom of lots of late nights, lack of exercise and little attention to my diet. Plus, Halloween is fast approaching, and I want to be feeling nothing short of fabulous for my favorite holiday. So this week, I’m cutting out inflammatory foods like corn, tomatoes, sugar and processed soy, and focusing on green smoothies, fruits, veggies, whole grains and tons of water…AKA what my diet used to look like.

This morning, I decided to whip up a green smoothie for breakfast and a salad for lunch, the perfect foods to kick off a cleanse. Lately, I’ve been craving Trader Joe’s Super Spinach Salad due to it’s to-die-for Carrot Miso dressing. Unfortunately, it’s pretty calorie laden due to all the oil they add…not exactly cleanse friendly. So I decided to make my own healthier version this morning to put on my lunch salad. It seriously tastes exactly like the real thing…which makes me insanely excited for lunch.

HEALTHY TRADER JOE’S CARROT MISO DRESSING

Ingredients:

2 medium sized carrots, diced

3/4 inch chunk of ginger, sliced

1-2 garlic cloves, sliced

1/2 tbsp. olive oil (you can use less or omit completely to further cut cals)

2 tsp. rice vinegar

1 tbsp. miso paste

Place all ingredients in a high powered blender or magic bullet and process until smooth. Add water as necessary to achieve desired texture. This recipe makes enough dressing for 2 salads (gotta love leftovers!)

So, I’m curious… how do you cleanse after a crazy weekend?

Have a wonderful Monday, let’s make it a great week!

<3Sarah

Leave a Reply

