Motivation Monday: Avoiding a sedentary workplace lifestyle

This is a topic that I’ve got a particular passion for, especially now that I’m a slave to Corporate America. To be honest, I never saw myself sitting at a cubicle for work, but life takes you where it takes you and here I am! My biggest beef with working in a traditional office setting is the pure lack of movement throughout the day. We find the closest parking spot, take the elevator up, eat at our desks and sit on our butts for 8+ hours. I’m sorry, I just don’t vibe with that.

When I started this job, I wasn’t willing to succumb to the sedentary lifestyle that most corporate jobs promote. Sitting is literally killing us, and according to research, even moderate physical exercise doesn’t make up for all the sitting Americans do. As if I want to be part of that statistic. I value my health too much to let a job ruin it.

So here’s your little beam of motivation on this sunny Monday: a few tips to keep you from falling into this trap so that you can stay happy, healthy and hot no matter what you do for a living.

  • Take the stairs. Ok people, seriously. I know every health magazine ever is like “take the stairs, blah blah blah” but for real, it’s absolutely necessary. I’d like to add that just because you took the stairs does not mean you worked out. It should supplement a fitness routine, not replace it. Sure, it’s better than nothing, but you are better than that. I walk five flights of stairs to get to my desk every morning (after my AM sweat sesh), and it’s just enough to get my blood pumping so I’m energized for the workday ahead.
  • Stand at your desk. Like I mentioned, sitting is killing us (see below). So, simply put, I don’t do it. Unless I’m in a meeting, I’m standing all day long. At my job, our desks are adjustable, so I stand on a padded mat and work on my computer from an upright position. If your job doesn’t offer adjustable desks (ask someone in operations, they often accommodate those type of requests – fake an injury if you have to :)), you can buy a stand that lifts and lowers, like these from Ergodesktop.

Image Credit: Daily Infographic

  • Sit on a Stability Ball. If you really can’t get an adjustable desk, or need to sit down to work, replace your work place chair with a stability ball. It will burn more calories, tighten your core and improve your posture, wayyy better than a desk chair!
  • Take a walk. I honestly leave my desk multiple times an hour, whether to socialize, go to the bathroom, get water, etc. but I also take time for afternoon walks, even just down the street to Starbucks. It’s a great way to get moving and get out of the office; I usually invite a friend or two and we talk about anything other than work. It clears your head and gets your blood pumping, allowing you to return refreshed and ready to tackle your workload.

These are just a few things I do daily to keep from becoming sedentary, and they help a ton. People at work totally know me as the girl who never sits at her desk – a label I’m quite proud of. My thing is, we work to live, so why not take action to make it a life worth living?

 

Go move your butt 🙂 and make it a fabulous day!

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “Motivation Monday: Avoiding a sedentary workplace lifestyle

  1. Pingback: Benefits of Sleep | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

