Vegan Pumpkin Alfredo

I love entertaining. This is largely due to my obsession with Pinterest, as I was never much of a party-thrower before I opened my account last year. In fact, even though I was my sorority’s Activity Chair, I was never all that good at putting together a fabulous function. But Pinterest helped me discover this new passion, and I’ve been running with it ever since.

To be honest, it had been awhile since I’d organized something, and I’d been itching to have a little get together. Luckily, it was my turn to host my team at work’s monthly “Supper Club,” so I got my opportunity.

I’m a freak about themes {{I LOVE a good theme party}} so I decided to pick a relevant but simple “Welcome to Fall” theme…AKA a perfect excuse to bust out some pumpkin recipes! I asked everyone to bring a seasonal dish to ring in the new season, although that basically meant we ended up with a ton of carbs.

As the hostess, I provided the main course and the dessert. I decided to make a vegan, gluten-free pumpkin alfredo for my guests, followed by a pumpkin bread recipe that is so moist it’s almost more like custard. Although my coworkers are not vegan or gluten free, both dishes went over extremely well. I definitely impressed myself with my cooking skills 🙂

My coworker Emily, super excited about my main course

For the pasta, I used Tinkyada’s organic brown rice spirals. It’s not usually my first choice GF pasta {{I usually prefer Andean Dream quinoa pasta for a little added protein}}, but it worked amazingly well with this dish.

This recipe is the perfect hearty but healthy meal to kick off the season, and really wasn’t all that hard to make! It’s also easy to make in large quantities, so it’s perfect when you need to feed the masses 🙂

VEGAN PUMPKIN ALFREDO

For the sauce:

2 cups canned pumpkin
1 cup fresh basil
3/4 cup vegan milk (I used coconut)
1/3 cup Nutritional Yeast Flakes
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
2-3 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
2-3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp dried Italian herbs
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp red pepper flakes
salt and pepper

For the pasta:

2 bags gluten free pasta

1/2 bunch kale

2-3 c. mushrooms

coconut oil, for sauteing

Cook the pasta according to package directions. While the pasta cooks, place all sauce ingredients in a food processor or high powered blender and blend until smooth. Transfer to a saucepan and heat over medium heat to desired temperature. In a frying pan, melt coconut oil and saute mushrooms until soft. Add a little water and kale, heating until the kale is just barely wilted. Mix the pasta, sauce, kale and mushrooms together and serve.

This recipe makes 10-12 servings, so either make a big batch with the intention of having leftovers, or cut it down to feed less people.

What is your favorite fall dish?

❤ Sarah

3 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Alfredo

  1. Pingback: Sew-licious Pumpkin Recipe Hop |

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Fab Finds | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

