Bridgeport Brew Pub

Here in the Northwest we LOVE Breweries…the city of Portland has more breweries per capita than any other city in the country! Since I’m a total beer girl {fruity beers to IPA’s and everything in between} and tend to frequent the Pearl District quite often, I manage to make it to Bridgeport Brew Pub from time to time. Although I have the tendency to become a creature of habit and stick with what I know I like (especially when it comes to food choices), I’ve been trying to branch out!

//Seasonal IPA and Dirty Kettle One Martini//

That said, I must call myself out and say what keeps bring me back to Bridgeport (besides the beer of course) is the same dish that I can’t seem to break away from: The Vegan Bowl – quinoa, black beans, grilled tofu, kale, sweet potatoes, edamame, red peppers, carrot salad, and your choice of spicy cashew sauce (I asked for the spiciest one of course) or Korean red dragon sauce. I’m no vegan, but though you can sub a chicken breast for tofu (which is what I’d typically prefer), I feel I’m obligated to keep this dish meatless.  I make my own version of veggie quinoa bowls often for weekday lunches but they don’t ever include kale, sweet potatoes, or spicy cashew sauce… That is about to change—the texture of each ingredient all paired perfectly and the spicy sauce made for the perfect light topping that didn’t drown the dish.  It doesn’t hurt that their beers are off the charts as well and I honestly can’t even pick just one to share with you.  In the spirit of branching out and since I no longer have my picky tendencies I love asking for recommendations or trying the seasonals.

//The Vegan Bowl//

My friend ordered something not so vegan… PIZZA so I managed to get the best of both worlds. The pizza we chose was “The Hawthorne”: artichoke hearts, red onion, spinach, feta, Parmesan  sun-dried tomatoes, and roasted garlic olive oil.  While it may not be vegan it is vegetarian, but was still a very well-rounded pizza. Plenty for 2 people to share with an app and while we had leftovers to go, I wiped it clear of artichoke hearts… my bad 🙂 Fun fact: all their pizzas are named after Portland bridges which I am now a clear master of after doing the Portland Bridge Petal.

//The Hawthrone//

The Skinny- Bridgeport Brewery

  • Hours: Tues-Thurs: 11:30am-11pm, Fri/Sat 11:30am- 12pm, and Sunday 11:30am- 10pm
  • Location: 1313 NW Marshall Street, Portland, OR 97209
  • Average Meal Price: $8-13
  • Phone: 503.241.3612
  • Facts: Vegetarian/vegan friendly, local and organic ingredients, great beer!

I would clearly recommend this place and I would highly suggest branching out!  Also stick to their flavorful beer, you can get a dirty martini anywhere!

❤ Jamie

Leave a Reply

