Avocado Egg Salad

As a kid, I loved egg salad sandwiches. It’s funny because so many people are disgusted by egg salad, but I never had an issue with it. When I went vegan, I couldn’t do the egg or the mayo {which I have always detested}, but I’d have variations of egg salad with tofu. Those were good, but still loaded with vegan mayo which is still loaded with unnecessary fat.

Now that I eat eggs again, my wheels started turning. I was craving egg salad but I refused to use even the vegan versions of mayo, so I started brainstorming healthy fats that might work in a recipe. Um, avocadoDUH.

I made myself a single serving {because leftover egg salad smells raunchy,although I’ve been known to eat some smelly food – cultured veggies anyone?}, and served it in a nori wrap with a bunch of seasonal veggies, and it was fabulous. So fresh and light, despite egg salad’s normally negative reputation. I’d love to add hummus to my wrap next time – delish.

AVOCADO EGG SALAD

1 hardboiled egg

1/2 ripe avocado

2 tbsp. minced onion

1 tsp. dijon mustard

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

olive oil, to taste

Spices you like: think chives, garlic salt, S&P, cumin…get creative!

Chop the egg and mash the avocado, mixing them together and adding the remaining ingredients. Serve with celery sticks, crackers, on a sandwich, or in a wrap (like I did).

I’m off once again, this time to Vancouver B.C.! Gotta love a little time off from work 🙂

❤ Sarah

One thought on “Avocado Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

