Vegas Survival Kit

Lookin’ Fly

I’m back from an absolutely EPIC trip to Vegas.

Vegas and I have always had a love/hate relationship. I’ve been a few times, and each time I can’t get out of there fast enough by the last day. To be honest I was a little nervous this time, since I’d be there 3 nights instead of two and lately I’ve been super sensitive to alcohol (therefore susceptable to bad hangovers).

I was absolutely determined to have a good time on this trip and not feel like a truck hit me every morning, so I decided I’d come prepared this time. And just as I’d hoped, Vegas was no match for my Vegas Survival Kit.

As I’m sure you are aware, alcohol is extremely dehydrating and rough on your liver, but it also destroys the good bacteria that are essential to digestion and immunity (hence, why people often get sick after a crazy weekend). It’s also extremely acidifying, which can cause a number of issues in the body. The ideal survival kit rehydrates, alkalizes, replenishes depleted probiotic stores, and aids liver detox.

Sarah’s Vegas Survival Kit:

Before drinking:

  • Apple Cider Vinegar – ACV is pretty much a miracle cure for an acidic environment. It’s naturally equipped with probiotics and enzymes to aid in digestion, and neutralizes blood acidity. Take 1-2 tbsp. in water before you start drinking, and as often as possible throughout the night and next day. Make sure you buy ACV that has the “mother.”

Prefunking:

  • Probiotic drinks – Following the probiotic theme, if you are prefunking before you go out, mix drinks with a tasty probiotic drink to avoid the added sugar most mixers hide. I prefer Kevita,  a coconut probiotic drink that comes in a bunch of tasty flavors, or kombucha, which is basically fermented black tea. I’m also a fan of Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar drinks, they just aren’t fizzy.
  • Image Credit: Fitness Dish

While you’re out:

  • Lemon Water – I always sip on lemon water between cocktails to ensure I stay hydrated. Lemon is a great add on because it’s also extremely alkalizing and works wonders on your digestive system. A good ratio is one drink to one lemon water – you’ll still get a buzz, trust me!

The morning after:

  • B12 – Since I’m vegetarian, B12 is absolutely essential. But even if you’re not, B12 is an excellent source of energy that picks you up without giving you a caffeine crash.
  • Milk Thistle – This little remedy is an age-old fix for liver detoxification, AKA it speeds up the process of flushing booze out of your system so you feel better faster.
  • Protein shake packets – If you are like every person in the entire world, you probably crave carby, greasy food when you’re hungover. As delicious as it sounds at the time, it’s not your best option. As hangover food goes, the lighter the better, and you want a good balance of lean protein, high fiber and good fat. This isn’t easy to find in Vegas, so I planned ahead and brought Vega meal packets, which are not only a protein powder, but a multi vitamin, greens powder, and probiotic and enzyme supplement. Just add to water, shake, and enjoy! They actually taste amazing, which helps.
  • Coconut Kefir, Kombucha, ACV and a probiotic supplement – Same as above, these babies will hydrate you while replenishing your probiotic supply. Coconut drinks have an added bonus since they are teaming with electrolytes as well, without the nastiness of Gatorade’s toxic ingredients (high fructose corn syrup = EW). If you opt for the Bragg’s ACV drinks, the ginger one is an excellent choice to help soothe the stomach. All of these, especially the ACV, are alkalizing as well, which brings your body back into balance.

So there you have it! I essentially made it 4 days in Vegas without the slightest trace of a hangover! Granted, it helps not to drink yourself stupid…which definitely becomes less appealing with age. Wish I could say the same for everyone else on the trip:

Iced

{{Some people just can’t handle Vegas}}

I’m off to Vancouver B.C. this weekend for a girl’s trip with my best friend, so I’ll be taking my own advice again here soon. Hopefully you’ve got fun stuff to look forward to as well!

❤ Sarah

3 thoughts on “Vegas Survival Kit

  1. Pingback: Friday Fab Finds | liveskinnybliss

  2. Pingback: Tailgating, the Skinny Bliss way | liveskinnybliss

  3. Pingback: Benefits of Raw Apple Cider Vinegar | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

