Peaches and Cream Oatmeal

When I was a kid, my mom used to buy those fruit-and-cream flavored Quaker oatmeal packets and they were my absolute favorite. Blueberries and cream, strawberries and cream…remember those? And no one ever ate the banana one {although later in life I loved it}. I lived off that stuff growing up and through college. When I went gluten free, however, I had to change that habit and start eating gluten free oatmeal, meaning I pretty much had to start making oatmeal from scratch. Now especially, I stay away from the packaged stuff due to all the dang sugar!

Since then, I’ve experimented a lot with different ways to make oatmeal…raw blended oat groats, cooked oats with fruit, protein powder, nut butter, or even spinach! But until recently, I’d never tried to recreate those tasty little Quaker packets.

I’m a freak about local seasonal produce, so since peaches are in season, I’ve got a ton of them. One of my peaches was going soft, and I happened to be craving oatmeal, so I made up a new oatmeal recipe that is now one of my absolute favorites. It may take more time to make, but it’s lower in refined sugar, higher in fiber, and tastes fresher than the packaged stuff.

I cooked the oatmeal over the stove top, which I highly recommend, although you can definitely do this in the microwave, the results may just be a little different.

HOMEMADE PEACHES ‘N’ CREAM OATMEAL

1/2 c. rolled oats

1 c. liquid (I did half water and half flaxseed milk – I recommend non-dairy milk to get the “cream” taste)

1/4 tsp. salt

1 ripe donut peach, or 1/2 ripe peach

1 tsp. cinnamon

honey, stevia, or other natural sweetener, to taste

1 tsp. ghee (optional – gives a more creamy taste)

1 tbsp. flaxseed (also optional – add for omega 3s :))

Put oatmeal, salt and liquid into a saucepan and boil over high heat. Once boiling, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Add peaches, and cook down another 5-10 minutes, depending on your prefered texture. Remove from heat and add sweetener, cinnamon, ghee and flaxseed. You can also add protein powder if you are eating this post-workout – I like Sun Warrior sprouted rice protein.

The Skinny: 368 calories a serving (makes 1 serving, includes flaxseed and ghee), 263 calories without add-ons

Remember – breakfast is extremely important to keep your metabolism running. Please don’t skip it, eat it when your actually hungry, and make sure it’s something healthy, as it sets the tone for your entire day {read: no sugary cereals or cholesterol-laden egg/sausage/english muffin combos}.

What’s your favorite healthy breakfast food?

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “Peaches and Cream Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

