Birthday Fashion and Native Foods Cafe

Today, I’m officially 24.

Which means….nothing.

I’m now old enough to be 3 years older than 21-year-olds at the bar. But honestly, milestones are totally overrated right? {{besides being able to drink legally – let’s be real, that was awesome}}

I started the morning with a kick-ass workout, courtesy of the Nike Training Camp iPhone App. It KILLED me, but hey, I knew today was going to be indulgent! Being able to feast later? Totally worth it šŸ™‚

Although I still had to work today, I made sure to get my celebrating in. I’m totally one of those people who saves their best outfits for momentous occasions, so I picked out this little number (obviously had to go with the high-low), which has gotten me numerous compliments {as the ideal birthday outfit should :)}:

{{Yes, this is a mirror pic and yes, it’s in the bathroom at work. Don’t judge me.}}

When I got to work, I had a lovely message in my inbox, sent to my team from my manager. Not going to lie, I actually laughed out loud when it saw it:

{{Gotta love the shout out to this post}}

I was also greeted with a card and a Regal Cinemas gift card…score!!

For lunch, two of my coworkers got me out of the office for lunch at Native Foods Cafe, a vegan chain that started in Los Angeles and has finally made its way to Portland. It’s located at Bridgeport Village, which is conveniently located near my Lake Oswego office.

The menu looked amazing, and thanks to my decidiphobia, I had an insanely hard time choosing what to order. In addition to being totally vegan, they have a number of gluten-freeĀ items on the menu as well. I finally settled on the EnsalataĀ Azteca Salad (totally redundant name, but whatevs), and my friend Emily and I shared an order of the Maryland Tempeh Cakes (think crab cakes, only vegan!).

{{EnsalataĀ Azteca – aaaaMAZING}}

{{Maryland Tempeh Cakes with Chipotle Vegan Mayo}}

The tempeh cakes were by far my favorite. It was unREAL how much they tasted like crab cakes! My other friend Patty got the Rockin’ Moroccan Bowl with “chick’n”, which she also raved about:

{{Patty’s Rockin’ Moroccan Bowl}}

When I returned to the office, I got the best surprise yet: a gorgeous and completely “me” flower arrangement from my boyfriend Joe. That, I was definitely not expecting. Now my desk looks really festive.

{{Margarita flowers from Joe…complete with straws and strawberries. Is that not the coolest thing ever?}}

Needless to say, my birthday has been totally fab so far, and it’s only about to get better! Jamie, Joe, my family and I are heading to Pambiche tonight to celebrate with some delish Cuban food, followed by dessert at Back to Eden. Does. Not. Suck. šŸ™‚

Before I sign off, here’s the Skinny on Native Foods Cafe:

  • Location: Bridgeport Village – 7237 SW Bridgeport Rd, Tigard, OR 97224
    Phone: (503) 968-9999
    Hours: Mon-Sun 11AM – 10PM
    Fun facts: The entire restaurant is vegan, with plenty of GF options and substitutions.

Happy Thursday to you, and Happy Birthday to me!!

ā¤ Sarah

5 thoughts on “Birthday Fashion and Native Foods Cafe

  1. Pingback: Celebrating at Pambiche | liveskinnybliss

  2. Pingback: Upscale Vegan Dining at Portobello | liveskinnybliss

  3. Pingback: Blossoming Lotus | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

