A.N.D. Cafe

A.N.D CAFE

{{Photo via A.N.D Cafe’s Facebook}}

I’m obsessing.

I’m always on the hunt for great brunch spots that have sweet, not just savory, menu items that are both vegan and gluten free. This isn’t the easiest feat – most places have tofu scrambles and hashes, but it’s not as often that you see GF/vegan pancakes, waffles and french toast. Carby breakfast food has always been one of my big weaknesses, despite my otherwise low-glycemic diet, so I’m always on the lookout for a morning-after carbo-load brunch spot. No one believes in weekend indulgence more than Jamie and I…

I stumbled across A.N.D. Cafe’s Facebook page a while ago when doing a search for vegan restaurants and bookmarked it for myself to try at some point. However, it’s pretty deep from Vancouver, so I hadn’t ever pulled the trigger on trekking out to East Burnside. But after reintroducing myself to their menu last week and noticing they had a GF/Vegan waffle, I made it my goal to check it out over the weekend. Thankfully, my friend Tiffany was willing to make the journey with me Sunday morning to recover from a pirate party we attended the night before.

The cafe is adorable; a small storefront with outdoor seating surrounded by suburbia that is completely vegetarian and mostly vegan, in addition to being able to make almost everything gluten free. It was busy, but not unpleasantly so, especially for a Sunday morning, and though there were no tables open we were able to snag seats at the counter right away. The menu isn’t extensive, but it was one of those menus where every single thing looked amazing. Although this would normally send my decidiphobia {=the fear of making decisions, I have it REAL bad} through the roof, I knew I had to get what I’d come for, a waffle. Their special waffle was a blackberry oat waffle, topped with granola and vegan sweet cream. I about died and went to heaven right then and there. I also ordered tempeh bacon, and one of their gluten free biscuits to take home and try later {I just can’t resist breakfast carbs, I really can’t}.

Needless to say, the waffle was amazing; surprisingly not too sweet, and deliciously whole grain, thanks to the oats.

Tiff got what would have been my second choice: the Veggies in a Mess. The dish was comprised of pesto-scrambled tofu or eggs (she opted for tofu), avocado, and a bunch of veggies, served over an open-faced biscuit (which you can get gluten free). I had a bite and it was so flavorful, it took everything I had not to eat her entire plate:). Tiff isn’t vegetarian, and she loved it – always a sign of a truly great meal!

Despite being busy, the service was quick and friendly, and the atmosphere was cozy and bright. My only complaint is the distance from my house, although if it was any closer, I might go broke adopting a breakfast-for-every-meal diet… Regardless, no matter where you live, it’s worth the trek. I can’t wait to go back and try more of their menu!

The Skinny

A.N.D Cafe

  • Location: 5420 E. Burnside St. Portland, OR
  • Hours: Mon-Fri 9 am – 3 pm, Sat&Sun 8 am – 3 pm
  • Phone: (503) 233-4550
  • Menu
  • Cost: $5-9
  • Fun facts: Everything on the menu is automatically vegan, but they offer eggs and cheese if you ask for it. Their gluten free items are made in house and almost everything on the menu has a gluten free option.

Stay healthy, happy and hot!

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “A.N.D. Cafe

  1. Pingback: Blossoming Lotus | liveskinnybliss

  2. Pingback: Isabel | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

