Then and Now: My High-Low Skirt Obsession

I’m by no means a fashion expert – that’s definitely Jamie’s forte. However, I still do my best to keep up with the latest trends, and there is one in particular that has me way excited right now – the High-Low skirt.

This trend is by no means new on my radar. I’ve been obsessed with these since I saw Miranda from the Real World Austin wore an adorable white one on an episode {yes – back in 2005}, prompting me to buy my own at a boutique in Rome during my EuroTrip that summer. I wore the crap out of that skirt – I still remember it. It was white, 3-tiered with a foldover waistline, and by today’s standards was probably hideous, but I loved it. Literally wore it until it fell apart.

{{This is me in 2005 (Photo Credit: Shannon Sewell) – Unfortunately I couldn’t dig up a pic of the exact skirt, but this gives you an idea of how I wore it}}

Though the trend fell off for a little while, I still unabashadly pledged my allegiance to the high-low look. I even dreamed of walking down the aisle someday in a custom wedding gown that is short in front and long in back {…ok, I still do}. I’ve been collecting photos over the years to design the perfect dress, that I hope will look something like this:

{{Photo via Bisous Chic}}

So you can only imagine my excitement when I discovered that the high low has come full circle (although to me, it never left). And you can bet I’ll still be wearing these long after the trend fades back out ;).

Get The Look:

Wild: Urban Outfitters Kimchi and Blue Tidal Skirt, $69

Feminine: Akira High Low Lace Skirt, $49

Bold: Necessary Clothing Waverly High Low Skirt, $29.99

Yours in high-low bliss…

❤ Sarah

{{Photo Credits: Image 1 Image 2 Image 3 Image 4 Image 5 Image 6 Image 7 Image 8}}

2 thoughts on “Then and Now: My High-Low Skirt Obsession

  1. Pingback: Current Summer Craves | liveskinnybliss

  2. Pingback: Birthday Fashion and Native Foods Cafe | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

