Circa 33

Circa 33

Over the last year I have to fully admit that my brunch addiction is giving my love of happy hour a run for its money.  It may be solely due to the fact it is always accompanied with a grapefruit  mimosa or maybe because it’s a perfect morning recovery after a late night out.  I got a suggestion this past weekend to I try Circa 33, not specifically for the brunch but because it’s the sister bar to one of my favorites, North 45, and some friends had tested it out for dinner the week prior.  I didn’t realize till I walked in that I’d had been there before on a date for drinks.  The ambiance is hard to forget considering it’s decorated dated back to 1933… hence the name Circa 33.

{Loooove the decor}

Why did I choose to head to this place for brunch instead? When I checked out the menu online, which I do frequently before I head to a new place {fit tip: great for researching healthier options prior}, I saw that Circa 33 is known for their $2 mimosas… or in our case they give you the whole bottle + fresh fruit juice for $12.  Quite the steal I’d say!

 

{Carafe of Mimosa}

So before everyone gathered together to head to brewfest my friend Peder and I decided to test this place out.  It is very rare if I go a weekend without going to brunch, and this is the first place I’ve been that there wasn’t a wait.  That can be a good sign or a bad sign… but in our case it was great because I was in a bit of a hurry! {Brews were calling 🙂 }

I decided to go with the Breakfast Bruschetta {Smoked salmon, grilled asparagus and sunny side up eggs, served on toast with tarragon hollandaise sauce to top}. Unfortunately for me they were out of smoked salmon {one of the main reasons I chose the dish} so I had to take the option of subbing ham.  Result = decent, I’m assuming the smoked salmon probably made the dish because it just seamed to be lacking flavor.

{Breakfast Bruschetta}

On the other hand Peder got the Croque Madame {The last time I had one of these I was in Paris–>TAKE ME BACK!}. It’s a french dish/grilled sandwich with ham and cheese served with a fried or poached egg on top. Result = Amazing… definitely worth a shot.  In my opinion It’s hard to mess up a croque madame but I was fawning over Peder’s dish way more than mine.

{Croque Madame w/ potatoes to side}

Overall, it’s not a place I’m itching to try again for brunch due to the limited menu. However, the service and ambiance were fabulous, and rumor has it the  happy hour and the night scene are tremendous – and anything with a $2 mimosa… yeahhh, let’s just say I will be headed back soon!

Any recommendations w/ bottomless mimosas in Portland? Let me know!

The Skinny:

Circa 33 Brunch

  • Location: 3348 SE Belmont, Portland, OR
  • Phone: 503-477-7682
  • Hours: Open Mon-Fri 4 pm – late, Sat&Sun 9 am – late
  • Cost: Entrees range from $7-14
  • Menu
  • Must Try: the Croque Madame, $2 Mimosas

❤ Jamie

One thought on “Circa 33

  1. Pingback: Isabel | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

