Kristine’s Kickin’ Edamame Hummus

Ask anyone – I am a hummus ADDICT. So much so, in fact, that for a brief period of my post grad life, I worked at a local company packaging and delivering fresh hummus, which basically meant I ate it for free. Now that I don’t have the ole hummus hookup anymore, I’ve been forced to create my own recipes that tantalize my tastebuds. You will never see me eating plain hummus, I’m a flavor gal through and through and I love experimenting with new ingredients.

When my boyfriend’s sister, Kristine, who is a pro at entertaining as well as a Pampered Chef guru, told me she had a recipe for edamame hummus, I HAD to try it. I now have her to thank for this delish recipe I can add to my collection.

Just FYI – it’s spicy. If you can’t handle the heat, you might be a little bit of a pansy, but don’t worry, I’ll still love you! It’s still delicious even if you tone down the hot stuff.

Spicy Edamame Hummus

1 10 oz. package frozen shelled edamame
Juice from 1-2 lemons
1/4 C. water
1/4 C. tahini
3 cloves garlic
1 T. minced ginger {{I didn’t use this in this batch, but I LOVE ginger hummus so I highly recommend trying it!}}
1 T. Thai red chile paste
1 1/2 t. sea salt

dash toasted sesame oil {{the original recipe also called for olive oil, but I don’t notice a difference whether it’s included or not, so I skip it to save calories. But if you like that fuller flavor, add it on in sister!}}
Hot chili oil {{optional, but I highly recommend it}}

Prepare edamame according to package instructions. Put cooked edamame and remaining ingredients in a food processor or high powered blender and blend until smooth. Feel free to play around with the liquid content to reach your desired consistency (I tend to like my hummus a little thicker, as that’s how we did it at my old job at King Harvest). If you still want more spice, garnish with Sriracha sauce! Serve with rice crackers, veggies, or as a spread on a wrap or sandwich.

Stay happy, healthy and hot!!

❤ Sarah

One thought on “Kristine’s Kickin’ Edamame Hummus

  1. Pingback: Lentil Eggplant Hummus | liveskinnybliss

Leave a Reply

