Organic: Not Just for Hippies

I’ve been called a hippie many times.

Shocker, right?

But in all honesty, despite my free spirited nature and almost-vegan diet, I’m completely mainstream. I love clothes that don’t look like a potato sack, I endulge in trashy TV on occasion, and I commute over an hour to work each day in a car that isn’t a bike or a hybrid.

That being said, the hippie in me is obsessed with eating organically. Thing is, buying organic isn’t really all that hippie anymore. In fact, with the emergence of Whole Foods and the popularity of sustainability, it’s downright mainstream.

I’ve got plenty of reasons why I believe organic is the only way to go. There are numerous social and environmental benefits of eating this way, but most importantly, it’s HEALTHIER! Why? Because I said so:

1. Organic foods are higher in vitamins and minerals than their conventional counterparts. Sound like a load of bull? It’s not. Studies suggest that certain fruits and vegetables, when produced organically, contain higher levels of trace minerals, vitamins, and antioxidants. Sure, there are degress of variability, that’s just science for you. But all-in-all, you are getting more bang for your buck with organic produce. Cause hey, the higher the nutrient content of your food, the less you have to eat to fulfill your body’s needs!

2. Pesticides are extremely toxic. Ok, I know I’m not the only one who is totally freaked out about putting stuff in my body that was made in a science lab…if it doesn’t occur naturally in the world then it probably wasn’t intended for human consumption (that includes processed foods…but I’ll touch on that in another post). Unfortunately, every time you eat conventional foods, you are ingesting all the nasty chemicals they put on that food to repel insects. Yeah, bugs are gross, but trust me, these chemicals are grosser. I mean, think about it this way: pesticides are designed to KILL bugs. What makes you think they’re not slowly killing you too? Yeah…stick that in your pipe and smoke it.

3. It tastes better. Yes, I made this one up. Kind of. There isn’t really any scientific evidence to back this one up, but my science is life experience and I say, organic tastes better. Go to the store and buy one conventional apple and one organic (extra special bonus points if it’s local), and tell me which one tastes better. It’s a no brainer. The conventional ones taste like tap water.

4. Organic farmers don’t use GMOs. GMO = genetically modified organism. Essentially, these are seeds that have been changed in a lab so that they naturally repel pests and grow bigger faster, yeilding more crop than is normal. Great for money-hungry food companies, not great for consumers. As a rule, I try to stay away from anything that boasts being “modified” (except modified push-ups, the real ones are too hardddd!), because that basically insinuates that it’s not real. I do NOT want to know what some science nerd did to it to make it “modified”, and I sure as hell don’t want my body to become a lab experiment gone wrong. GMO consumption has been linked to food allergies, autoimmune disorders, and even certain cancers. That’s no joke my friends!

I feel like the excuse I hear most often when it comes to not eating organic is “it’s too expensive”!! But honey, let’s be real; our body is our hottest accessory. My reasoning is, all the clothes, jewelry and makeup in the world won’t make up for the natural glow I get when I eat healthy and treat my insides right. That said, there are ways to cut costs while still eating like a queen.

First and foremost – shop local! I can spend 20 bucks at my local farmer’s market on an assortment of produce that would cost me twice that at Whole Foods. Yes, most local farms don’t have organic certification, as it’s pretty pricey, but a lot of them still use organic farming practices. Just ask, and they’ll usually tell you how they do things.

Second  – skip the packaging and buy in bulk. Even at Whole Foods, bulk nuts and grains are cheaper than buying them pre-packaged, plus you can control how much you buy.

Third – avoid the dirty dozen. Some conventional product is worse than others. Follow the Environmental Working Group’s guidelines for what produce is safer to buy conventional, and what shouldn’t be touched with a ten-foot pole.

And lastly – stay away from organic “processed food”. Yeah, those cookies might have the USDA Certified Organic seal on them, but don’t be fooled. They are still simple carbohydrates with a ginormous dose of sugar. There is nothing wrong with stuff like this in moderation, but saturate your diet with organic whole foods, and save the indulgence for something that’s really worth it. {{Cocktail anyone?}}

For more info on the USDA certification, check out their website.

Stay happy, healthy, and organically hot!

❤ Sarah

One thought on “Organic: Not Just for Hippies

  1. I agree completely. Organic is healthier for the body and for the environment. Shop local and it’s better for the community and the country too!

Leave a Reply

