Superfood Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ballz”

I don’t really consider myself to have a big sweet tooth, but every once in a while, I get dessert on the brain. Thankfully, I find the sugar overload in traditional baked goods and packaged foods extremely unappealing, one of the many benefits of eating a nutrient rich whole foods diet. You won’t find any white sugar in this girl’s pantry; instead, I’m an advocate of low glycemic, unprocessed sweeteners like local raw honey, stevia and coconut sugar.

I find I need dessert once or twice a week, and when I do, I figure it can’t hurt to make it healthy! But don’t let the “H” word fool you – healthy doesn’t require you to sacrifice taste. I love playing with superfoods in the form of nut butters, coconut oil, and, of course, chocolate, to make sure my desserts don’t disappoint.

The need to make dessert struck last night, as I needed to come up with something for a potluck at work. My team arranged a “Ballz Potluck” (yes, that is how it’s spelled), where everyone brings ball-shaped foods to celebrate what is basically an inside-joke-turned-tradition. So I decided to whip up a little ditty inspired by Averie Cooks’ many “ball” recipes , hoping my colleagues wouldn’t mind my health-conscious take on the theme. Thus, Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ballz” were born.

{{Yummm…}}

The reaction was even better than I’d hoped – people loved them (and I didn’t even have to disclose that they were gluten-free and vegan, although I’m sure my coworkers are well aware of this fact).

{{My coworkers love ballz…}}

{{Proudly showing off my ballz – hahaha I promise this is the last balls joke}}

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER BALLZ

1 c. raw cashews, ground into flour (I used a coffee grinder)

1/3 c. plus 2 tbsp. raw oat groats, ground into flour

1/4 c. agave nectar (you can also use pure maple syrup, raw honey, or coconut syrup here for slightly different flavors)

1/2 tsp. vanilla creme stevia or vanilla extract

1/3 c. vegan dark chocolate chips (I buy them in bulk at Fred Meyer – they do contain cane sugar but I figure a little won’t kill me. You can also make your own.)

3 tbsp. unsalted organic peanut butter (the no sugar added variety)

2 tbsp. rolled oats

After grinding the cashews and oats into flour, add the sweetener, vanilla and peanut butter to a high powered blender or food processor and blend until a ball of sticky dough forms. Mix in the chocolate chips and oats by hand, or add them to the blender a pulse a few times to get smaller chunks. Roll the dough into bite-sized balls and set on wax paper. Freeze a few hours or overnight to solidify, or eat right away for a gooey texture.

Not gonna lie, I definitely had a few too many of these. Thankfully, the interns taught a Zumba class at lunch (hence my workout gear), so I got to take a break from my computer and work those babies off! Ballz potluck AND Zumba…guess I’ve got a pretty sweet job :)

Stay happy, healthy and hot!

<3 Sarah

2 thoughts on “Superfood Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ballz”

Leave a Reply

